V

It seems that I have a thing for video lookbooks. First, it was bstore ss08 ‘odds on’ , then- Sopopular aw09, not so long ago I saw those ‘I feel’ movie featuring Raf Simons aw0506 (although it’s not clearly a ‘lookbook’ but still), and finally this ss10 Blank presentation. All of them look very simple and effortless, nevertheless fascinating. I guess at least for me it’s all about those small gestures, slightly moving fabrics, blinking, glances etc, which create a world of otherwise hidden details.

When I wrote this post I suddenly remembered mesmerizingly beautiful Warhol’s screentests. These video lookbooks in some sense present the same idea of a person being a microcosm into itself.

And a beautiful homage to the original ones- created by the MacKenzie Art Gallery:

For me it’s like some kind of video minimalism there is no plot, no action, no talk, no decorations, and only one aim- to look and absorb every tiny detail.

Leave a Reply

